Continue The Pursuit

 

"Pursue Your a Dreams" by Amaranthia Gittens-Jones age 15 (iamthatgirl.com)
“Pursue Your a Dreams” by Amaranthia Gittens-Jones age 15 (iamthatgirl.com)

My newest blog entry:

Originally posted at iamthatgirl.com

“You said, ‘They’re harmless dreamers and they’re loved by the people.’ ‘What,’ I asked you, ‘is harmless about a dreamer, and what,’ I asked you, ‘is harmless about the love of the people? Revolution only needs good dreamers who remember their dreams.”-Tennessee Williams

I  of becoming an artist from an early age and am determined to find a way to create my own business involving art. This was my vision since I was eight years old. I struggled to reach my ambitions because of people outside of my family telling me I ‘shouldn’t do art,’ ‘you should become a scientist,’ and ‘wait till you’re 18.’This year, I was able to open a small business on Etsy, allowing me to sell my ‘fox art.’ Even though this was an enormous advancement for me, there was a dilemma. There were many obstacles preventing me from opening the shop, even on the day it was going live.

I had to think deeply about what I was going to put on the shop, and had ideas and prototypes that didn’t work. Promotion, pricing, and delivery ideas had to be considered for the business.

The shop opening was rescheduled because my parents’ credit card information was hacked and stolen. This caused a major setback, making it so I couldn’t upload the shop for days. I feared my dream would be put on hold.

I couldn’t believe how many things were blocking me from creating a business, but I discovered that this is part of the experience of becoming an entrepreneur. There are people or situations discouraging you every step of the way. Having a dream and a concept is only the beginning, but not the end. You must remain open to change and ask for help and guidance. If something does not work, change it. Not everything you envision will thrive. It is important to keep trying and not be disheartened….

See more here:

http://www.iamthatgirl.com/continue_the_pursuit

Leave a Reply

